Community leaders have encouraged new Executive Director Dave Nash to think big as he takes on the leadership of the Barbara B Jordan YMCA. With that in mind, Nash challenged those attending the annual meeting at Sexton Hall on Thursday, February 25 to help create an endowment for an annual college scholarship for a deserving Morgan County student(s). More than $600.00 was committed toward this project so far.

Outgoing president Dean Roberson welcomed more than 50 friends of the Y and talked about several individuals who have excelled over the past year. Robin McDaniel was given special recognition for her dedication and the great amount of time that she dedicated to getting the new billing system started last summer. Roberta Kelzer and Judy Bucci were saluted for their teamwork in leading the Y as interim directors after the resignation of the Executive Director in August. CEO Search Committee made up of Norma Tomak, Julie Minton, Johnnie Robbins-Moore, Matthew Craney and Ryan Ferguson was thanked publicly for the hard work, patience and dedication to finding a new Executive Director.

Robin McDaniel nominated Zoe for president and presented the latest YMCA campaign. Zoe is an infant who represents the unlimited potential we see in our children. The Zoe campaign will help tell the Y’s story through the elections in November and is part of a nationwide effort by YMCA USA to raise awareness of the work done by the Y.

Judy Bucci and Roberta Kelzer were given special recognition as both agreed to come out of retirement to share the interim Executive Director role and provide leadership for the Y during the latter portion of 2015. Luke O’Neal, Jennifer Neal and Robin McDaniel made this presentation on behalf of Y employees.

New board members Erik Burns, Kris Fuller, Don Lipps, Devon Reel, Annette Rohlman and Troy Wood were nominated, confirmed and welcomed. The new executive committee was also confirmed. Julie Minton has taken on the Board Chair role and will be joined by Matthew Craney, vice chair, Kelly Bray, secretary and JT Metzger, treasurer.

Those leaving the Board after multiple terms of service include Aaron Cunningham, Steve Oliver and Dean Roberson. Also recognized were Melanie Foley and Brian Stremming who completed three terms of service to the Board in 2015.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This